Pitter-Patter

(Here’s to breaking the rule one more time, hope its worth the post haha)

I woke up to the pitter-patter of the raindrops.

It was pouring outside, and it never rained in the morning for the whole month when I went to school. I could feel the cold breeze filtering in through the curtains and it gave me a chill all over when I realized there would not be a wave of ‘good mornings’ meeting me as I stroll through the school gates and stand at my usual spot to observe assembly; there would be no assembly today due to the rain and my spot for the morning will remain empty for the rest of the year.

Every morning was warm and sunny when I walked into the office to sign in and start the day. It now appears that the world has taken on a slightly paler shade as I sit cross-legged on my bed and look back at my days in the staffroom and classrooms; I’d rather be walking through the gates now and thinking of my day ahead.

The rain continues to fall and the skies remain grey.

Leave a Reply

