(Another) Race

(5 minute challenge after lunch, let’s race)

Talking to you about junior college and other related things like
Scholarships and subject combinations makes me feel
A little older than what I consider an age suited for
Fun moments and happy times of simply decisions and easy choices;

I see so much promise in you and what lies ahead
That I do somehow wonder if anyone saw that in me years back
When I stepped into college ready to sprint all the way
With eyes on the finishing line and mind on the dazzling prize;

I know you’ll go far – not because I think you would
And not so much even that I feel you could
But more of knowing that you should
After seeing you push the final stretch after the last hurdle;

My race is about over – the finishing line is within a step or two,
And yours is about to begin – the starting blocks are in place and the marshall ready
To fire his gun to mark the start of your race
One which you can only surpass all expectations and soar beyond;

Those with spikes – let them run the good race,
And may the winds be ever in your favour.

Leave a Reply

