Powder and Eyeliner

(one before the night matures)

You sit there in the corner,
I look over and most of the time you’re so hard at work,
Other times you’re looking around and our eyes meet,
Sometimes I don’t really know what to think or feel;

You put make up – yes you put make up everywhere you go,
And people say ‘oh what an attention seeker’ and ‘oh how so vain’,
But then I look at you and I can’t help but wonder,
What a girl are you under all that powder and eyeliner?

I don’t know what to make of you sometimes,
With all those little moments of magic when we make eye contact,
Are they for real – do they reflect a certain fondness in you for me,
Or is it just wishful thinking on my part – lost in a beautiful reverie?

I probably never will know how you feel towards this all,
But I sure as gold can tell you madly in love is where I’d fall.

Leave a Reply

