You At The Corner

Do you know I look at you at the corner, 
Like how I used to 7 years ago? 

I thought you were brilliant really, 
You who was and are consistent, 
And I told you today you were impressive, 
Like how you were all those years back; 

I see you still – always at a corner and at a distance, 
I always wanted to get ahead of you and outdo you,
And I did indeed – but did I really? 
I look at you today and I still wonder about it now;

You were motivational back then (still are now), 
I guess looking at you doggedly working helped me a little;

Thank goodness you were there today somehow,

That gladly at the end of  today I could say:
‘thank you, work hard and have a nice day’. 

Leave a Reply

